EROSIONS

Photography is coming back to the Elysées Mermoz!

Erosions presents photographs from different series that are linked by the chosen disposition in the exhibition space.

These images show suspended and in-between moments. They suggest the instant before or after an important, unexplained, dramatic event, probably decisive for the characters one encounters in the images. Emotionally distancing themselves from their environment, they seem trapped in their thoughts, as one could be prior to taking a decision and taking action.
The buildings, possible living spaces, also seem to be on hold.

The swirl of a river, the erosion of mountains or of a solitary rock island refer to the mean movements that shape landscapes, in another duration than the instant in which the characters are represented. A mineral, misty landscape gives a counterpoint, suggesting a possible exodus.

As in film-stills, from an imaginary movie, the elements visible in the photographs become clues for the viewer to create a fiction from what remains unseen.

Born in 1979, Margaret Dearing lives and works in Paris. She graduated from Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles and Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy. Her groups of photographs present fictions evoking a separation from the man-made world. She questions the organization of contemporary landscapes and the instrumentalization of the environment, as well as her perception of architectural and urban spaces. Her groups of photographs attempt to show connections between landscape, urban spaces and individuals.

Margaret Dearing regularly exhibits her work.
Main Exhibitions : Rencontres Photographiques de Solignac, 2012; Intervalle, Galerie du Pavillon, Pantin, 2011; Mois Off de la photographie, Paris, 2010; Faux-Raccord, Galerie 19, Angers, 2010; Galerie du Haut-Pavé, Paris, 2008; Fallen, F-stop International Photography festival, Leipzig, 2008; Niveau O, Galerie de l’Erban, Nantes, 2008; Yokohama VDO COLLECTION 07, Red Brick Ware House, Yokohama, 2007

Exhibition Erosions by Margaret Dearing, Elysées Mermoz Hotel, from May 24th to August 31st 2012.

EROSIONS

La photo fait son retour à l’Elysées Mermoz!

Erosions propose au spectateur un choix de photographies, extraites de différents ensembles, mises en relation dans l’espace d’exposition.

Celles-ci donnent à voir des instants suspendus : intervalles qui suggèrent l’avant ou l’après d’un évènement important et dramatique, non-dit et non expliqué, sans doute déterminant pour les personnages qu’on croise dans les images. Pris dans leurs pensées, ils mettent à distance leur environnement, comme avant de faire un choix et d’agir. Les architectures qui pourraient constituer des lieux de vie restent elles aussi en attente.

Les remous d’un fleuve, l’érosion des montagnes ou d’un rocher solitaire nous renvoient aux infimes mouvements qui façonnent les paysages, dans une durée autre que l’intervalle dans laquelle se trouvent les personnages. Un paysage minéral, envahi par la brume, propose un contrepoint, suggérant un possible exode.

Les éléments visibles dans les photographies deviennent les indices d’une fiction en creux. Comme extraites d’un film imaginaire, les photographies proposent au spectateur une énigme à partir du hors champ des images.

Diplômée de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles et de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy, Margaret Dearing est née en 1979 à Paris, où elle vit et travaille. Représentations possibles d’un moment-charnière et dramatique, ses photographies présentent des fictions qui évoquent une séparation avec le monde construit par l’homme. Elle s’interroge sur l’organisation des paysages contemporains et l’instrumentalisation de l’environnement, sur la façon dont nous percevons et vivons les espaces construits et aménagés par l’homme. Elle cherche à rendre visible dans ses ensembles d’images les rapports d’échelle et d’influences entre paysages, lieux construits et individus.

Margaret Dearing expose régulièrement son travail.
Principales expositions: Rencontres Photographiques de Solignac, 2012; Intervalle, Galerie du Pavillon, 2011; Mois Off de la photographie, Paris, 2010; Faux Raccord, Galerie 19, Angers, 2010; Galerie du Haut-Pavé, Paris, 2008; Fallen, F-stop International Photography festival, Leipzig 2008; Niveau O, Galerie de l’Erban, Nantes, 2008; Yokohama VDO COLLECTION 07, Red Brick Ware House, Yokohama, Japon, 2007.

Exposition Erosions de Margaret Dearing à l’Hôtel Elysées Mermoz, du 24 mai au 31 août 2012.