Soizic STOKVIS

Soizic STOKVIS , OPEN DATA

HOTEL ELYSEES MERMOZ, PARIS

Exhibition from October 25th until December 9th 2012.

I am particularly interested by the phenomenon of the megalopolises. Indeed their topographies, like « open data », are evolving continually. The « planetary village » seems to be emerging, based on new balances which appear however to be fragile.

As a painter, a part of my work consists in abstract monumental interventions

which I carry out by painting directly on the walls and to which I add now and then tape extensions.

During their realization I specially pay attention to the perception I have of the places. Becoming the support of my geometric paintings, the premises consequently turn out different. One experiences another understanding of the space. An architectural transformation consequently takes place, in the same way as cities undergo significant changes.

At the Hotel Elysées-Mermoz, I will create a mural installation, consisting in a central printed drawing on canvas and its extensions. It refers to a no longer circumscribed world and which is somehow overflowing.

In addition, pieces made on Plexiglas, a typical urban synthetic material, will be  located in the hall. My graphic vocabulary remains abstract. The patterns I create are realized by computer, because of the  specificity of the process . The universes which are created by this means are entering in dialogue with each other, similar and yet different, as cities are. The round form of the material is a hint to nowadays statistics. The « open data » are leading to new approaches.

soiz.stokvis@noos.fr

http://www.soizicstokvis.net/

Exhibition from 25 october to 9 december 2012

Opening 25 october at 7 pm

Hôtel Elysées Mermoz

30 rue Jean Mermoz

75008 Paris

Others pictures by Partick Chapuis.

Soizic STOKVIS

Soizic STOKVIS : OPEN DATA

EXPOSITION A L’HOTEL ELYSEES MERMOZ, PARIS
Du 25 octobre au 9 décembre 2012

Le phénomène  des mégapoles m’intéresse particulièrement. Leurs topographies, comme « des open data »  se transforment en effet continuellement. Le « village planétaire » se dessine, fondé sur  de nouveaux équilibres, qui semblent  cependant précaires.

Comme peintre, une partie de mon travail consiste en des interventions monumentales abstraites à même les murs, parfois augmentés d’extensions à l’adhésif. Lors de leur mise en place je tiens particulièrement compte de l’appréhension même des lieux. Ces espaces, devenus le support de mes peintures géométriques, se révèlent dès lors autrement; le ressenti qu’en perçoit  le regardeur en est modifié. Il s’établit une transformation architecturale, à l’instar des bouleversements urbanistiques.

A l’hôtel Elysées Mermoz c’est à partir d’un dessin imprimé sur toile que je   réaliserai  une installation murale. Celle-ci rappelle les débordements d’un monde autrefois circonscrit.

En complément, des oeuvres sur altuglas, matière synthétique typiquement urbaine, seront réparties dans l’espace du hall. Mon vocabulaire graphique reste abstrait. Il est volontairement issu de l’outil informatique et de sa spécificité. Les univers qui se révèlent se répondent, semblables et différents, comme les villes. La forme ronde des supports se réfère aux représentations statistiques actuelles. Les  « open data », se transforment en de nouvelles approches.

soiz.stokvis@noos.fr
http://www.soizicstokvis.net/

Exposition du 25 octobre au 9 décembre 2012
Vernissage le 25 octobre à 19h

Hôtel Elysées Mermoz
30 rue Jean Mermoz
75008 Paris

Crédit de toutes les autres photos: Partick Chapuis