Eric Cloutier

Traveling Robots: Invasion of robots at the Elysees Mermoz!

Hotel Elysees Mermoz at the lower end of the Champs-Elysees, is both a boutique hotel and a gallery. At the initiative of its director, Olivier Breuil, himself an artist, the hotel unveils contemporary works in which photography, painting and design mix. Until January 31st, 2010, the hotel welcomes Eric Cloutier and his series “Traveling Robots.”

Born in Montreal and having lived in New York, The Hague and now Paris, Eric Cloutier is the perfect model of the urban nomad for whom the journey is the key motivation of his existence. Leading an artistic life at the same time as pursuing a career in finance, he finds it important to understand the city in which he is living. For him, each town has its own energy and personality. It is the memories of his travels that form the heart of his artworks, a mix of photography, drawing and graphic design. Modern, his works are inhabited by robots, a nod to his childhood during which he collected vintage robots.

“Traveling Robots arises from a personal interpretation of different places I have lived in or visited. These locations are the protagonists of my art. The robots, curious and humorous, also travel across my artworks, replacing me in telling the story of my observations and memories”, says the artist. We can observe that the artwork representing London refers to the cover of the album “Abbey Road” by the Beatles. Inspired by Japanese futuristic art and the representation of surreal universes by artists such as David LaChapelle and Matthew Barney, Eric Cloutier’s works are resolutely contemporary and high-tech. For instance, the artwork of Montreal, in which a giant iPod is walking a dog robot on a leash, evokes the Summer music scene of the city.

“Traveling Robots”, from November 21st to January 31st, 2010.
Free entrance – All day.


Hôtel Élysées Mermoz

30, rue Jean Mermoz
75008 Paris
T. : +33.(0)1.42.25.75.30
F. : +33.(0)1.45.62.87.10
hotel@emhotel.com
www.hotel-elyseesmermoz.com

Eric Cloutier contact : travrobots@gmail.com

Eric Cloutier

Traveling Robots : invasion de robots à l’Elysées Mermoz !

L’Hôtel Elysées Mermoz situé en bas des Champs-Élysées, est à la fois un boutique hotel et une galerie. À l’initiative de son directeur Olivier Breuil, lui-même artiste, l’hôtel dévoile des œuvres contemporaines où photographie, peinture et design se mêlent. Jusqu’au 31 janvier 2010, l’hôtel accueille Eric Cloutier et sa série de robots voyageurs, les « Traveling Robots ».

Né à Montréal, résident à New York, La Haye et maintenant Paris, Eric Cloutier est le modèle parfait du nomade urbain dont le voyage est le moteur essentiel de son existence. Menant de front sa vie d’artiste et sa carrière dans la finance, il aime comprendre une ville lorsqu’il s’y installe. Pour lui, chaque ville a sa propre énergie et sa personnalité. Ce sont ses souvenirs de voyage qu’il place au centre de ses tableaux, savant mélange de photographie, graphisme et dessin. Modernes, ses œuvres sont habitées de robots, un clin d’œil à son enfance, lorsqu’il collectionnait les robots anciens.

« Traveling Robots est le fruit d’une interprétation personnelle de différents lieux où j’ai vécu ou voyagé. Ces endroits sont les protagonistes de mes tableaux. Des robots, curieux et pleins d’humour, expriment à ma place mes perceptions et mes souvenirs », précise l’artiste. On remarque ainsi que le tableau évoquant Londres reprend la pochette de l’album « Abbey Road » des Beatles. Inspiré par l’Art japonais futuriste et par la représentation d’univers surréalistes d’artistes tels que David LaChapelle et Matthew Barney, ses œuvres sont résolument contemporaines et high-tech, comme le prouve la toile représentant Montréal où un iPod géant promenant un chien-robot en laisse, évoque la scène musicale estivale de la ville.

« Traveling Robots », du 21 novembre au 31 janvier 2010.
Entrée libre – Tous les jours.


Hôtel Élysées Mermoz

30, rue Jean Mermoz
75008 Paris
T. : +33.(0)1.42.25.75.30
F. : +33.(0)1.45.62.87.10
hotel@emhotel.com
www.hotel-elyseesmermoz.com

Pour contacter Eric Cloutier : travrobots@gmail.com